Cowes Week Triple Crown

The Cowes Week Triple Crown is a new event for the world’s largest and most glamourous yachts, who will compete over three days of Cowes Week for some of the most prestigious trophies in sailing. A full social programme, together with prizegiving reception, will be announced in due course.

The Trophies

The Queen's Cup, presented to the Royal Southampton Yacht Club by Queen Victoria in 1897

The King George V International Cup, a huge flagon that was awarded by the Royal Thames Yacht Club to the winner of the 23 metre class in 1911, White Heather II

The RYS King’s Cup 1920 which was presented in 1920 by King George V at the Royal Yacht Squadron for a race for yachts exceeding 100 tons

The Races

A series of three races will take place on the Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday of Cowes Week and will start and finish from the Royal Yacht Squadron.

Each race will be approximately 50nm long, and the series will include a Solent Eastern Approaches course, a Solent Western Approaches course and an Around the Island Race, with the opportunity for boats to mount record-breaking circumnavigation attempts.

The Boats

The Triple Crown event is open to large racing boats of between 20m and 36m LOA, racing under the IRC Rating System. Three classes will compete for the Triple Crown - Maxi-Racers, Cruiser-Racers and Ocean-Racers - and one of the prestigious trophies will be awarded to the winner of each class. In addition, the overall winner of the series will be awarded the new Cowes Week Triple Crown Cup

Entries for the Cowes Week Triple Crown

Entries for this event can be made through the normal Cowes Week Entry System.